Dinner With The Man From The Hornet’s Nest

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Susanna came up with the topic: If you could have dinner with someone living or dead, who would it be?

Growing up, I heard stories about my great great (not sure how many great’s, to be honest with you) grandfather Benjamin Mayberry Prentiss. He’s considered a war hero in my family, having fought in the Civil War during the battle of Shiloh, as well as what became known as the “Hornet’s Nest”. This is something my father and I recently conversed about during our trip in Arizona.Check out the link below for information:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Shiloh#Hornet.27s_Nest

Benjamin was captured and had surrendered, yet was considered a hero, due to his tactics. He was able to hold off the Confederates long enough to give General Grant the opportunity to organise a counter attack and win the battle.

It wasn’t until middle school that I decided to do a little research of my own on Benjamin, and I took a peek into some history books at my school’s library. It was awe-inspiring to see someone I was related to staring back at me from the glossy pages! I’d see pictures, and could tell where certain attributes of my face (but moreso my father’s) had come from.

I think it would be interesting to get a chance to sit with him, and talk. He was a political leader, I know nothing about politics. He was a war vet, I’ve never had to go into battle. He became a lawyer. Well, I like to argue, so we may have had something in common there. His life fascinates me.

There’s a story I was told about Benjamin years ago (I am sure I’ll screw it up, so Dad, if you are reading this, feel free to comment and correct me)… someone in my family right now has possession of Benjamin’s uniform from battle. Inside one of the pockets were playing cards. Also, a bullet hole.

Wouldn’t that just intrigue you????

4 thoughts on “Dinner With The Man From The Hornet’s Nest”

Leave a Reply

