My Roots Are Planted In The Past….

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Melissa chose for her topic choice: What TV show, movie or book is most similar to your life?

Well first off, let me say that it’s great to be back home! You’ll notice I haven’t been on much to post any new blogs. My family and I went on a vacation, and had very limited e-mail access.  Which on some accounts can be a fabulous thing, but on a blog standpoint, not so great.  Ladies, I apologize that I am getting this accomplished so late!

That being said, when I read Melissa’s topic suggestion, I instantly knew what TV show best fit my life.  I’ve been saying it for years.  It does tie in with my previous blog entry, but there’s just no better choice.

One day, I was flipping through channels on my television set, and came upon a show called “Reba”.  I know who Reba McEntire is.  She’s a famous country singer.  She’s also a talented actress, and here she was, lying in a hospital bed on her own show.  The scene was set up to where she is about to have surgery, and her ex husband and his meddling new wife are in the room with her.  Meddling new wife is recording Reba’s anguish and fear at having surgery.  Ex husband sits in a chair, watching the scene unfold.  It’s a comedy, but what lies underneath is my life.

My ex is still very much a part of my life.  He gets along with my husband.  The ex lives a mere five minutes away. He has easy access to our son.  This is my life, and I live it every day.  It’s different, and it’s not conventional.  But it’s the way it is. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

In the series finale, Reba says it best: “Six years ago, I thought I was cursed.  Turns out I was blessed.  Blessed to be in the middle of the craziest, most dysfunctional, wonderful life I can imagine.”

One thought on “My Roots Are Planted In The Past….”

  1. i can see why this makes sense. i’ve watched it a bunch of times. i’m glad you and kev are together now. he’s so cool and he found his perfect match. 🙂

Leave a Reply

