Love/Hate Relationship- That’s Me, And Treadmill

I hate the treadmill. 

There was a time I never set foot on a treadmill.  I didn’t want to work out.  Then I started walking on one.  That led to jogging.  It led to running.  All I wanted to do was run on the treadmill.  I couldn’t imagine setting foot outside. 

But I did.  And I haven’t looked back. 

Those of you who run outside know what I am talking about.  Try running outside, and then run on a treadmill.  Notice anything different?  Feel a little confined?  Does the rubber track sliding on rollers feel a tad different than the sidewalks, gravel, and dirt that you are used to? 

This was my demise yesterday.  I just can’t get motivated.  I’m so bored.  I knew I wasn’t going to hit mileage-wise what I normally would achieve outside.  So, I decided to hell with it.  I did something entirely different, and I want to share with you what I accomplished, so next time you are stuck on a treadmill, there will be a light at the end of that tunnel.

“I HATE THE TREADMILL” Workout:
1. Smack the face of the treadmill a few times, to let out any additional aggression due to being confined indoors, having to run on the stinkin’ treadmill.
2. Listen to music. Watch tv. Otherwise, you are staring straight ahead and looking at your couch/blinds/wall/bookshelf/… you get the idea.
3. Grab 5-10 lb weights. You are going to need them. Place them next to you, but don’t place them ON the treadmill. That’s just plain silly.
4. Turn on the treadmill, and start out slow, to get a warm up. I start out around 4.0, zero incline. Do this for a couple of minutes.
5. If you want an extra work out, raise the incline. Even raising it 1-2 degrees will feel like an increase.
6. Increase your speed to 4.5 and start jogging. Do this roughly 2 minutes.
7. Increase speed to 5.0-5.5. Increase again going up to 6.0/6.5 or higher. Do what feels comfortable. If you want to stay at a lower speed, do it.
8. After you’ve hit 10 minutes of running, slow your speed back down to 3.5/4.0. Now the fun begins!

For the next 10 minutes, you are going to work your upper body as you walk on the treadmill. Do 3 sets of 10-12 reps of the following routines:

 swing arms back and then bring back to starting position

lift weights and then raise down, bring back up
 pull arms up, like revving a lawnmower

 lower to sides, and then bring back up

 Another thing I really like to do is grab both weights, place them behind my head, and then hang my arms down behind my head and back up again, lifting and lowering.

After you do at least ten minutes of arm workouts, you want to repeat the cardio work out you did in the beginning, minus the warm up.

When you’ve hit 30 minutes, it’s time for a cool down.  Walk at a 3.5/4.0 pace for a few minutes.

If you want to go longer than this, it’s up to you.  You can repeat this pattern a couple of times, but me personally, I just can’t do more than 30 minutes on the treadmill.

30 minutes can’t come fast enough for me!

Leave a Reply

