Water… For Me, It’s The Real Thing…

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week it was Tracey’s turn, and her topic choice was: “You have to give up something for 30 days, what would you give up and how do you think giving that up will change your life? Or, have you given up something for a period of time – what was your experience like?”

My friends think I’m nuts.  I don’t drink soda.  Or pop.  Or soda pop.  Whatever you want to call it, I don’t drink it. Well, that’s not entirely true, I do drink it, but very rarely. I can go months without it, and use soda as a hangover drink, because of the caffeine.  And since it’s been years since I’ve had a hangover, well, you get the idea here.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy the taste of Coca-Cola.  Or revel in the bubbly brew of Sprite.  I am sure I’d be fine with a can of 7-Up every now and again, and Pepsi?  I grew up on the stuff!  My grandparents were good at spoiling my sister and I. They’d keep a few 2-liters of soda for us to gorge ourselves on during our weekend visits, and we’d amaze and disgust them with our many belches, and many gassy toots that would escape our behinds.  Oh what fun we’d have! Laughing and giggling at our indiscretions!

And that’s all well and good, when you are ten.  But when you get to be an adult, it just doesn’t have the same ring to it. No one wants to hear me burp.  No one wants to be around if I let one rip.  Soda makes my stomach gurgle.  I don’t get the allure of “the burn” from soda, something big-time soda drinkers can attest to, even yearn for!

So, when I entered adulthood (roughly the age of 20) I decided to cut back.  And then, cut it out altogether.  It wasn’t hard to do.  I would drink water, or juice.  Hot cocoa.  I didn’t go through caffeine withdrawls.  I didn’t get headaches. Maybe I didn’t drink the stuff long enough.  I’m not sure.  It was an easy transition for me, one I’ve never had to fall off the wagon for.

As I mentioned earlier, I still have soda on occasion, if I had too much to drink the night before.  The caffeine acts as a stimulant, much like coffee would, and it helps to keep me awake (I never can sleep after drinking).  I also will partake in a little 7-Up action when I eat Thai food, which is bizarre. Sometimes I want to get a Pepsi when I eat sushi.  All of these occasions are so few and far between, and I never get hooked.  And I almost always twist my face into a strange contortion of pain and awe when I feel “the burn” at that first gulp of soda.

And I always let out a good belch.

One thought on “Water… For Me, It’s The Real Thing…”

Leave a Reply

