Mommy Diaries

Men just don’t get it.

This morning I inform my husband, “I’m going to paint my toenails tonight…” (we are going out for a friend’s birthday, but considering we’ve got a five month old, any night that celebrates someone else is a date night for us)…

He says to me, “Why?”

Now, a little background on me. I’m not much of a girly-girl, although my husband says I’ve got more girl in me than I think I do. I don’t normally have painted toenails or fingernails. I don’t wear makeup. Lately washing my hair has become a luxury, because my baby doesn’t seem to think that Mommy needs clean hair. I guess in this respect I’m “fashion forward”, because I’ve read recently it’s better to NOT wash your hair every day. If this is the case, I’m the most fashionable Mom around.

He asks me this question, and I go into a little tirade…

“Look. I need to tell you something. Yesterday I didn’t shower until just a few minutes before you got home. I haven’t washed my hair in three days. I’ve had my hair in a ponytail for so long, there’s a big lump in the back where the ponytail holder has molded itself into my hair. I wore work out jogging pants out of the house to run errands, along with a baggy over-sized sweatshirt that Nolan eventually spit up all over. Lately I’ve felt dumpy, and fat, and just downright ugly. We are going on a DATE NIGHT. I get to look pretty! I get to wash my hair and have some time to style it! I get to smell nice, and by God, if I want to paint my toenails, I… WILL… DO…. IT.”

He’s quiet for a moment. Then he says:

“You might be all of those things, but I always think you are the most beautiful woman…”

Now, how do I respond to something like that?????

2 thoughts on “Mommy Diaries”

  1. You take it for the compliment it is, because it’s true. And for the record, I didn’t say “Why?” I said “Really?” because I knew everything you were going to try and get done in two hours after you got home, and I wasn’t sure you were going to have time. I get your need to feel pretty.

Leave a Reply

