Legendary?

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Melissa was up to bat, and came up with a doozy:
“Tell us about an experience that was legendary for you”

I had no clue. I tried, but couldn’t think of anything legendary. So Sunday morning, I was talking it over with my husband, and I asked him what he would consider legendary. Right away, with no hesitation he tells me, “The fact that you had two pregnancies where you delivered naturally, no epidural.”

I never considered this a legendary thing. But in my husband’s eyes, he felt it was, and I could hear real pride in his voice when he told me this.

When we arrived at the hospital for Nolan’s delivery, I informed the nurse that he would be delivered au naturel. No pain meds. No epidural. No pitocin. I was waiting for her to try to talk me out of it, but she didn’t. She told me that statistically, 90% of women use epidurals and most choose to, even before they get to the hospital, even before it’s medically relevant. She was very supportive of my decision, and I was treated with the upmost respect. As though I was a war hero about to embark on a very long, arduous journey. Which, was pretty accurate. After Nolan was born, and nurses would come in to assist me, they would often compliment me on the hard work I put in. No one laughed or made fun of the noises I made during my eight hours of labor (they could hear me all the way at the nurses station, and my room was the last one down a long hallway).

I really did feel as though I did something important. Something truly special.

Now, I know women who have delivered naturally, others who had C-sections (emergency or not), still others who knew before going in that they were getting an epidural. All our babies were born healthy. I’m not downplaying those experiences. To each his own.

For me though, I had set out to accomplish this, and it felt good knowing that I could, and that I did.

One thought on “Legendary?”

  1. yay! i tried to hold out with my first one and then gave up and went the epidural route. after that, i couldn’t go without it for my other deliveries. to each their own and i’m proud of you for sticking it out.

Leave a Reply

