You Gotta Have A Plan….

March 28th was the official start of training for the Omaha Marathon, which will be on September 25th. I don’t know about others, but for me, it’s always best to have a plan. Something to follow. I don’t feel as though I can ever just “wing it”, which may be why both Kevin and I haven’t had much progress when it comes to getting in shape.

This week has gone by fast, and worked out well for us. It’s nice to have an actual calendar to follow, and we know what to anticipate for the next day.

I highly suggest to everyone out there that if your intent is to get back into shape, or to start a fitness regimen, to look for some training ideas or suggestions online. I’ve mentioned this before, but we are following the training guide on MarathonRookie.com. There are others out there. I recently saw one in Runner’s World magazine:
http://www.runnersworld.com/subtopic/0,7123,s6-238-244-255-0,00.html

On the rest days that are indicated in my MarathonRookie training, we are doing weight training, to help to strengthen our bodies, especially with core work. I subscribe to Shape magazine, and will often tear our pages from my magazine, and save them in a binder so I have an easy reference guide to different toning work outs.

I have a feeling this will be a very fast month for us… but hopefully a fast month full of progress….

137 pounds

190 pounds

Leave a Reply

