The Good… The Bad… And The Ugly….

I’ve read Runner’s World. I’ve read multiple websites that pertain to running.  I’ve read blogs of other individuals who are runners, who are training for some sort of running event.

In everything I’d read, nothing touched on the ugly of running.  It’s always the good.  Borderline bad would be referencing injuries you can sustain during running, and how to overcome said injuries.  There was always a beautiful little fuzzy line surrounding the articles regarding some runner’s tough struggle, and how they overcame it.

And then I trained for a half marathon, my first and only to this date, in 2009.  I trained with a good friend of mine, and even she never mentioned what I’m about to share with you.  Yes, this means I get to share information that might be classified under “TMI”.  This also means that you will learn more about me than you ever intended to learn, but I want you to be informed!  This is a part of the process, just like stretching, jelling and speed work might be.

1. RUNNER’S TROTS

Not everyone will experience this, but I certainly did, and I feared for my life!  A friend of mine and I recently conversed about this, although he was very embarrassed to even bring it up.  He had also trained for a half marathon, and had what has been dubbed “runner’s trots”.  I discovered the expression after searching several sites online. Bottom line, you have runny stools.  Like, really runny.  Like, water.  You eat, and it comes right back out. What causes this, is blood supply.  During your hard run, your body is pumping blood to the areas it’s needed the most.  This means your arms, legs, etc.  And then when you stop running, the blood flow which has been pumping to various other areas in the body, now can concentrate back in your stomach region, i.e. digestive tract.  And this really relaxes the bowels, which in turn… well, you get the idea. Some people will even experience a little blood.  Not a cause for concern, unless it happens more than a few days. If things aren’t back to normal within a week, I’d certainly get it checked out.

2. SHOULD I BE WEARING DEPENDS?

I can’t attest for men runners.  But a lot of women (especially ones who have had children) will at times have a urination issue while they run.  As in, they can’t hold it. It’s best to relieve yourself as much as possible before you go running, and even that sometimes won’t help.  Those of us who have had babies may do as many kegal excersizes (tightening and toning the pelvic floor) as we can, and because your insides are just a little different than they were beforehand, you will still experience this.  Some women wear panty liners. Others go as much as they can before running.

3.  SEXY RUNNERS LEGS

They get shapely, and more toned.  But all that pounding on the pavement can cause varicose veins (dark blue veins that can be thin or thick in appearance, may even be painful to the touch) or spider veins (small, red spider web-like marks).  Unfortunately, it’s hereditary.  And running long distances can cause veins in your leg to swell.  I’ve noticed that some on my own legs have disapeared (like the ones I ended up getting from pregnancy).  Sometimes losing weight can also help.  Try to switch up your running style.  If you can, try trail or track running.  Good running shoes also helps.  A self tanner can help, if you are bothered enough by them. That will help to reduce the appearance of the veins. You can always look into having a surgical procedure done if they are painful.

Now, I don’t want to deter you from running.  As with anything, practice makes perfect.  If you keep at it, your body will become adjusted  to what you put it through, which will minimize and may even eliminate the above items.   The goal is to start out slow, and listen to your body.

Now, who’s ready to get out there and run?!?  Anyone????  
Hello????

Leave a Reply

