My Bad Racing Year

I’ve always signed up for a race early. I try to get in at the cheapest rate I can, and I want to make sure I have a slot available. You never know when a race will fill up fast.

This year, I’ve paid for five races. Of these, I’ve only run one. 

There was the Health and Wellness Expo run, back in April. Totally rained out. Then there was the Rock and Roll 80′ 5K in May. Also rained out. I was all geared up for the color run last month, and we were under a severe weather warning. Bye-bye, color run. I did run the Mom and Me 5K; the weather was perfection, and I assumed it would be smooth sailing the rest of the year.

I’ve never gotten overly emotional when a race has been cancelled. Shit happens. I reason with myself. At least I sign up for races that are supporting a good cause, and my money is being put to good use, right? Then this:

notice

Late one night, I was flipping through channels when I saw obstacle course runners on t.v.  I was totally enamored! Which is why I sought out Hard Charge’s website, and wasn’t hesitant when I spent the $90 dollars (a super-duper early bird rate, mind you) to run the race. I paid for this race in November of last year! I’ve been looking forward to it, and for the past few weeks I’ve been knee-deep in a grueling obstacle course training schedule to be ready and prepared for the 4-5 mile run that boasted insane courses that would all be televised. I wanted to come in 10th or better for my age group.

And now this.

I must admit, I got a little teary-eyed. I know, it’s just a race, but tell that to my wallet (I just paid for a hotel room last week, since the race was scheduled in Des Moines). Tell that to my aching shoulders and burning backside. And tell that to my crushed spirit.

There are other races out there. I could easily sign up for another one, but it still sucks. Honestly, I don’t even want to dish out the money. With my luck, any future races I have planned for this year will be rained out, snowed in or the whole operation will get shut down. I think from here on out, I’m going to be one of those people who waits until the last possible moment before I sign up for any other races. True, I might be dishing out an additional $10-$20 bucks, but as my husband puts it, it’s insurance. No one ever reimburses for these things, so I should wait it out and make sure the planets are aligned before I even bother forking over the money.

Such a shame.

I’m still going to complete my training. I have a few more weeks to go, and I’m not quitting or throwing in the towel. Maybe I’ll sign up for another obstacle course, or maybe not, but I’m no quitter. If you see a woman running 4 miles, and at every mile she drops down and does 10 burpees and 10 spiderman push-ups, stop and say hello. She’s working hard, man- race or no race.

This could have been me

 

7 responses

  1. I received an e-mail today- no refunds.

  2. No refunds is a bummer. I am going to PM you on Facebook about some races. . .Don’t stop running!

    1. Thanks Jen! No, I won’t stop running, I promise! :) Just not sure about the races. I feel as though I’ve got bad luck this year, LOL!

  3. that officially sucks! and i get it. my karma doesn’t always win out either. but it’s keeping you healthy so there’s value in that and who knows? maybe holding out will yield you a groupon. :)

    1. Groupons are always good! There’s a rumor that Spartan has offered to give out free registrations to those who had signed up for the Hard Charge. I’m looking into it… and crossing fingers!

  4. […] in gear. I want to give up, I want to cut back on the amount of miles I’m required to do. The recent cancellation of my obstacle course race was a big blow for me, and I could have thrown in the towel and stopped the training.  Yesterday I […]

  5. […] It’s been a long time, a really, really long time since I’ve trained for a race. All the races I’ve worked myself up for this year were either rained out or cancelled. Or went bankrupt. Except for one, and it was a […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

